HOME ARTICLES JOIN GALLERY STORE SPONSORS MARKETPLACE CONTACT US  
Register | FAQ | Search | Memberlist
Username:    Password:       Forgot your password?
BIKELAND > FORUMS > ZX-14.com > Thread: Flies out!!!! but think I have a problem NEW TOPIC NEW POLL POST REPLY
jjkillian


Novice Class
Posts: 56
posted October 14, 2006 09:10 AM        
Flies out!!!! but think I have a problem

After I got them out and installed the PCIII. The read out on the PCIII shows very low fuel ratio. When I started it, it showed 1 bar from the bottom. Then after the idle settled down it showed all the way down. I rev'd it a few times and still all the way down. I shut it off, knowing that with the flies out you can damage the motor if it is too lean.

It was mapped by Brock (sticker on back of the PCIII), showing smeg and secondary flies out map.

Do I need to adjust it on the PCIII? Or should I confirm the map is actually in there. Cannot imagaine they would have put the wrong map, or not one at all in.

JJ

  Ignore this member   
GUNNER


Needs a life
Posts: 5778
posted October 14, 2006 09:19 AM        
Dude that light on the box don't mean shit! It moves up and down with the throttle.. It's the map inside the box that controls everything.. Plug it into your computer and you will see the map..
  Ignore this member   
jjkillian


Novice Class
Posts: 56
posted October 14, 2006 09:24 AM        
okay, wasn't sure. Thanks for info. Will hook it up, cannot imagine brocks not putting it in.

JJ

  Ignore this member   
swft


Needs a life
Full throttle!
Posts: One MEEEEEELLION
posted October 14, 2006 09:56 AM        
I would suggest reading...
____________
82 Gpz750, 84 Ninja 900, 2000 ZX12R (Muzzy Big Bore Kit), *another* 2000 ZX12R (Muzzy custom stroke crank 1341cc motor), 2004 ZZR1200, 2005 ZX10R, 2007 ZX14, 2008 Concours 14, 2014 Versys 650, 2014 Yamaha WR450F, 2015 Ninja H2


  Ignore this member   
zx14_1965


Zone Head
Posts: 505
posted October 14, 2006 12:16 PM        Edited By: zx14_1965 on 14 Oct 2006 20:17
quote:
I would suggest reading...


+2
You can also upload the PCIII software and download the map to it and check the mapping parameters and title. But what do i know?....

Let's see what FBA has to say to this.....

  Ignore this member   
zxlnt


Needs a job
Kawpuke Extraordinare
Posts: 2853
posted October 14, 2006 01:05 PM        
JKillian if you have any doubt then take it to the dyno and have the AF checked out. If it came from Brock's though I wouldn't sweat it..

  Ignore this member   
fastestbusaaround


Needs a life
I eat Fish...
Posts: 7889
posted October 14, 2006 01:10 PM        
Some things never change -- there is nothing to upload. He's wrong, as usual.

All you have to do is install the DJ software on your PC, get the map and open it in the DJ software. You will see the map name, fuel tables etc...if you have the map. If you don't have the map, plug the PC into the USB port of the Power Commander and open the DJ software (bike must be running or 9V battery cable plugged into the PCIII) and click on "get map". There, you will see the fuel tables..idle speed, TPS etc.

Unless you have the bike on the Dyno with a gas analyzer plugged in, you're wasting your time. The map that Brock sent you was the result of many hours of tuning for your system, something you can't do without a Dyno or a wideband PC.
____________
FYYFF!!!

  Ignore this member    Click here to visit FastestBusaAround's homepage. 
jjkillian


Novice Class
Posts: 56
posted October 14, 2006 01:28 PM        Edited By: jjkillian on 14 Oct 2006 21:29
yeah wasn't trying to tune.

was just concerned with the A/F light on the PCIII being all the way down.

another question I have though is this. This is my first bike in 8 years. Last was an 88 gsxr 1100. My skills are obviously a little low from the time away from bikes. But I cannot get this thing to come up. I can just a tad if I run hard through 1st then hit 2nd hard it comes up slightly.

Just racked it up to the flies being in. Well now they are out, seems way more responsive below 7k, but still not coming up. This bike just front heavy or what? I don't get it. I either have a disfunctional 14 or ????????? I don't get it.

thx

JJ

  Ignore this member   
swft


Needs a life
Full throttle!
Posts: One MEEEEEELLION
posted October 14, 2006 06:18 PM        
There is no 'A/F" light on the PC3USB. There's a led bar that's a throttle position indicator in normal running and a programming indicator when you are adding or taking fuel away from the map.

AGAIN: READ THE MANUAL
____________
82 Gpz750, 84 Ninja 900, 2000 ZX12R (Muzzy Big Bore Kit), *another* 2000 ZX12R (Muzzy custom stroke crank 1341cc motor), 2004 ZZR1200, 2005 ZX10R, 2007 ZX14, 2008 Concours 14, 2014 Versys 650, 2014 Yamaha WR450F, 2015 Ninja H2


  Ignore this member   
tonytooth


Zone Head
Posts: 647
posted October 14, 2006 08:08 PM        
quote:

You can also upload the PCIII software and download the map to it and check the mapping parameters and title. But what do i know?....


You forgot to sideload the PC box and overload the wires
____________
MySpace

  Ignore this member    Click here to visit tonytooth's homepage. 
ZXLNT


Needs a job
Kawpuke Extraordinare
Posts: 2853
posted October 14, 2006 08:59 PM        
quote:
yeah wasn't trying to tune.

was just concerned with the A/F light on the PCIII being all the way down.

another question I have though is this. This is my first bike in 8 years. Last was an 88 gsxr 1100. My skills are obviously a little low from the time away from bikes. But I cannot get this thing to come up. I can just a tad if I run hard through 1st then hit 2nd hard it comes up slightly.

Just racked it up to the flies being in. Well now they are out, seems way more responsive below 7k, but still not coming up. This bike just front heavy or what? I don't get it. I either have a disfunctional 14 or ????????? I don't get it.

thx

JJ



Yeah yours must suck cause mine is a wheelie monster in 1st gear. It just powers up around 6000 rpm. It's bone stock except for a power commander and a slight re-tune.


  Ignore this member   
fastestbusaaround


Needs a life
I eat Fish...
Posts: 7889
posted October 14, 2006 09:11 PM        Edited By: fastestbusaaround on 15 Oct 2006 05:15
quote:
yeah wasn't trying to tune.

was just concerned with the A/F light on the PCIII being all the way down.

another question I have though is this. This is my first bike in 8 years. Last was an 88 gsxr 1100. My skills are obviously a little low from the time away from bikes. But I cannot get this thing to come up. I can just a tad if I run hard through 1st then hit 2nd hard it comes up slightly.

Just racked it up to the flies being in. Well now they are out, seems way more responsive below 7k, but still not coming up. This bike just front heavy or what? I don't get it. I either have a disfunctional 14 or ????????? I don't get it.

thx

JJ

No you don't have a dysfunctional 14. Wanna get her up? At 4k or more...pin the throttle, then close it fully and just pin it again (quickly) and she'll be up. There's not much hope of gettin' it up just by power alone...you need to bounce it up. I weigh 210 and bouncing her up works every time...my 10 comes up at 6k without bouncing, but it weighs a lot less. Don't clutch it up in 1st because she comes up very,very fast. I'm not great at wheelies, but I've got a buddy that can wheelie a golf cart and even he'll tell you that the 14 just won't come up easily under power alone...it needs help. hence, chopping the throttle.
____________
FYYFF!!!

  Ignore this member    Click here to visit FastestBusaAround's homepage. 
DominicL


Parking Attendant
Posts: 8
posted October 15, 2006 11:19 AM        
Be careful...

Pulling the front wheel up is fun, and won't hurt the bike, it's when the front wheel comes down that damage can be done.

If the front wheel comes down hard, you can destroy/wear out the steering head bearings. Worse yet, you can ovalise the frame where the bearing races sit. I know this because I've done it, and I had to replace the frame (on an old FZR1000, great bike).

I don't want to come across as a 'killjoy', just want to warn you of the expensive mistakes that I've make.

The heavier the bike, the more easily the damage occurs.

Wells done for removing the 'flies', best mod I've EVER performed. Good on ya.

  Ignore this member   
zx14_1965


Zone Head
Posts: 505
posted October 15, 2006 11:47 AM        
quote:
Some things never change -- there is nothing to upload. He's wrong, as usual.

All you have to do is install the DJ software on your PC, get the map and open it in the DJ software. You will see the map name, fuel tables etc...if you have the map. If you don't have the map, plug the PC into the USB port of the Power Commander and open the DJ software (bike must be running or 9V battery cable plugged into the PCIII) and click on "get map". There, you will see the fuel tables..idle speed, TPS etc.

Unless you have the bike on the Dyno with a gas analyzer plugged in, you're wasting your time. The map that Brock sent you was the result of many hours of tuning for your system, something you can't do without a Dyno or a wideband PC.


Oh brother, how anal can you get? Anyone who has a clue would've known what I was saying. Sorry, I ddn't use the "DJ software" reference.....give it a rest already.

  Ignore this member   
zx14_1965


Zone Head
Posts: 505
posted October 15, 2006 11:52 AM        
quote:

No you don't have a dysfunctional 14. Wanna get her up? At 4k or more...pin the throttle, then close it fully and just pin it again (quickly) and she'll be up. There's not much hope of gettin' it up just by power alone...you need to bounce it up. I weigh 210 and bouncing her up works every time...my 10 comes up at 6k without bouncing, but it weighs a lot less. Don't clutch it up in 1st because she comes up very,very fast. I'm not great at wheelies, but I've got a buddy that can wheelie a golf cart and even he'll tell you that the 14 just won't come up easily under power alone...it needs help. hence, chopping the throttle.


Flies out will get the front up without a hitch and doesn't require pinning above 4K or was that 4500K? . He has a dysfunctional 14 or he's afraid to pin it off idle, 2nd, and 3rd gear. No chopping necessary on mine. I can ride wheelies but not on a golf cart...boy your friend must be really good at wheelies.

  Ignore this member   
zx14_1965


Zone Head
Posts: 505
posted October 15, 2006 11:53 AM        
quote:

AGAIN: READ THE MANUAL


+5 X 100

  Ignore this member   
countersteer


Needs a job
Didn't read the owners manual
Posts: 2207
posted October 15, 2006 11:54 AM        
noooooobs
____________
Scott
Long Island, New York
2006 ZX-14, 2003 ZX-12R

  Ignore this member    Click here to visit countersteer's homepage. 
zx14_1965


Zone Head
Posts: 505
posted October 15, 2006 11:58 AM        
quote:
quote:

No you don't have a dysfunctional 14. Wanna get her up? At 4k or more...pin the throttle, then close it fully and just pin it again (quickly) and she'll be up. There's not much hope of gettin' it up just by power alone...you need to bounce it up. I weigh 210 and bouncing her up works every time...my 10 comes up at 6k without bouncing, but it weighs a lot less. Don't clutch it up in 1st because she comes up very,very fast. I'm not great at wheelies, but I've got a buddy that can wheelie a golf cart and even he'll tell you that the 14 just won't come up easily under power alone...it needs help. hence, chopping the throttle.


Wow, you're giving advice on how to get it up now?...sound like a jack of all trades...good on ya....
Flies out will get the front up without a hitch and doesn't require pinning above 4K or was that 4500K? .
He has a dysfunctional 14 or he's afraid to pin it off idle, 2nd, and 3rd gear. No chopping necessary on mine. I can ride wheelies but not on a golf cart...boy your friend must be really good at wheelies.
You won't damage anyting if you wheelie correctly and allow for a nice smooth and controlled touch down. It's called a loft wheelie in my book. Practice wheelies on a bicycle before screwing up your expensive bike.


  Ignore this member   
suicycle


Expert Class
Posts: 136
posted October 15, 2006 04:58 PM        
Wow, I dont know what kind of 14s you guys got..but if im sitting upright and I pin the throttle in first gear, the bike will go straight up, all the way to the balance point (or all the way over if I dont modulate the throttle) once it reaches about 4500 rpm. It often throws second right up to the balance point if I am sitting upright especially if I speed shift the first to second gear shift. Hell even when Im in a full tuck when I speed shift first to second it pulls the front wheel 2 feet or so of the ground. It even pulls third up about 6 inches or so on a second to third speed shift, while im in a full tuck.
  Ignore this member   
ninja14


Pro
Posts: 1136
posted October 15, 2006 05:27 PM        
Those bars do show rich and lean IF you are using the buttons to modify the map..........3 ranges.
  Ignore this member   
zxlnt


Needs a job
Kawpuke Extraordinare
Posts: 2853
posted October 15, 2006 05:53 PM        
No they only show more or less fuel added. Not actual AF ratio, as there is no 02 sensor to feedback information to the Power commander..
  Ignore this member   
TeamSpeed


Expert Class
Posts: 449
posted October 15, 2006 08:39 PM        Edited By: TeamSpeed on 16 Oct 2006 04:40
Lower the back end only about 1.5 inches, and the front end stops coming up and you can nail from a creep. My 12r at 6000 would come up in first just nailing, after the lowering, the tendency was greatly reduced. Stock suspension really allows the wheelies due to the force transfer on the shocks/springs, but lower it, and most of that will stop.
  Ignore this member   
fastestbusaaround


Needs a life
I eat Fish...
Posts: 7889
posted October 15, 2006 08:45 PM        
I think he wants it to come up...
____________
FYYFF!!!

  Ignore this member    Click here to visit FastestBusaAround's homepage. 
zx14_1965


Zone Head
Posts: 505
posted October 16, 2006 01:08 PM        
quote:
Wow, I dont know what kind of 14s you guys got..but if im sitting upright and I pin the throttle in first gear, the bike will go straight up, all the way to the balance point (or all the way over if I dont modulate the throttle) once it reaches about 4500 rpm. It often throws second right up to the balance point if I am sitting upright especially if I speed shift the first to second gear shift. Hell even when Im in a full tuck when I speed shift first to second it pulls the front wheel 2 feet or so of the ground. It even pulls third up about 6 inches or so on a second to third speed shift, while im in a full tuck.


+10
Somebody mentioned about lowering...No need to lower anything...if you know how to ride the 14 will get you up in a hurry....if you can't get in off the ground, sell the 14 and buy a Ninja 250.

  Ignore this member   
Phytrax


Zone Head
Posts: 526
posted October 16, 2006 08:24 PM        
My bike comes up fine in first if I pin the throttle around 45 mph. If I tuck it doesn't want to come up. I don't think I can get it up in 2nd but I'm going to try again soon as I get a chance.
____________
Concourse14- Corbin Seat, Candy Apple Red Paint, Area P Slip-On
RIP+ZX-14- Brock's Gen3, Heli Risers, Corbin Bags, Corbin Seat and Oval Backrest (Burgandy Snakeskin and black alligator), Muzzys Frame Sliders, flies out, 18t front sprocket, PC3, Puig Double Bubble, Pirelli Diablo Strada's
KX450F - kickstand
>>> MySpace --CLICK-- <<<

  Ignore this member    Click here to visit Phytrax's homepage. 
All times are America/Va [ This thread is 2 pages long: 1  2     Next» ] < Previous Thread     Next Thread >
BIKELAND > FORUMS > ZX-14.com > Thread: Flies out!!!! but think I have a problem NEW TOPIC NEW POLL POST REPLY

FEATURED NEWS   Bikeland News RSS Feed

HEADLINES   Bikeland News RSS Feed


Copyright 2000-2015 Bikeland Media
Please refer to our terms of service for further information
0.43749713897705 seconds processing time