2005-02-13 01:54
Press Release
February 13, 2005

Team Makita Suzuki's Ricky Carmichael clinched his fifth consecutive victory in the THQ/ AMA Supercross Championship at the RCA Dome. Indianapolis in front of 50,000 fans on Saturday night and increased his lead in the 16-round series to 32 points.

Although he didn't get the holeshot, Carmichael dominated from the second turn, leading reigning Supercross Champion Chad Reed.

"The fans were awesome tonight," enthused Carmichael after the race. "It's good to be back on the East Coast. We've had some good races out West, but I feel more at home here and I know we have some good races coming up. But it really helps when the fans are behind you like they were tonight."

At the beginning of the evening, Carmichael nailed his heat race by taking the holeshot and leading the eight-lap event. "I know the other guys are going to step it up for the main event and I'm willing to do the same thing," said Carmichael afterwards. "I'm just having a great time on my Makita Suzuki RM250 and I'm doing anything I can to have fun and put on a good show for the fans."

Team mate Sebastien Tortelli finished a close fifth in the same heat race as Carmichael and then went on t holeshot and win his 250 semi. "I'm super-happy about getting the holeshot in this race because it's the first time I've done that in a while," he said from the podium. "The whole Makita Suzuki team is working very hard and I've been training with Team Coach Rick Johnson, particularly since I crashed last week. But I'm getting back on track with my RM-Z450."

Once the gate dropped in the 20-lap 250 main event, Carmichael was in the lead before the end of the first lap. As the race progressed, he held that lead and just pulled away from the rest of the field.

"I feel confident in my Makita Suzuki RM250 and my set-up and I know what I need to do to win the main event," he explained. "I rode a solid race and had some solid lines and the Suzuki was really good through the whoops. I was able to stretch out the lead and I just did the best I could do."

Tortelli, meanwhile, got a mid-pack start but put in a hard battle and charged his way up to seventh position before the evening was through. Said Tortelli, "I felt a lot better about myself tonight. The RM-Z450 has been great for the last couple of races and now everything is just coming together for me. I had a few crashes in the last races and that held me back a little but everything is progressing now."

Next weekend, Team Makita Suzuki Racing returns to the West Coast.

Said Carmichael, "Things have been going well and I just want to carry this momentum into the next race. Southern California has been treating me well and I have had good luck in San Diego. I'm really looking forward to going back."

Tortelli added: "It's been raining a lot in Southern California, so next week I'll train up in the High Desert to hold on to the competitive edge. But overall I'm happy to be racing at home again."

In the 125 event, Team Makita Suzuki Racing's Davi Millsaps raced to his first Pro Supercross victory. The fun-loving, young rider got a good start and took the lead almost immediately.

He said: "I'm really excited about this win and I want to thank all the fans out there for cheering for me. I went into this race hoping to win or at least get on the podium. I got a lot of confidence after doing so well in practice and then in the Main, my RM-Z250 got me up front and I just rode my own race and tried to stay out front. I really just want to do the rest of the races this season with the same confidence that I did here and hope I do as well."

250 Results: 1. Ricky Carmichael (Suzuki); 2. Chad Reed (Yamaha); 3. Kevin Windham (Honda); 4. Mike Larocco (Honda); 5. David Vuillemin (Yamaha); 6. Ernesto Fonseca (Honda); 7. Sebastian Tortelli (Suzuki); 8. Heath Voss (Yamaha); 9. Damon Huffman (Honda); 10. Michael Byrne (Kawasaki).

Championship Points (after 6 of 16 rounds): 1 Carmichael 145, 2 Reed 113, 3 Windham 100, 4 Larocco 99, 5 Fonseca 89, 6 Vuillemin 83, 7 Tortelli 79, 8 Byrne 75, 9 Wey 73, 10 Voss 68.

125 Results: 1.Davi Millsaps (Suzuki); 2. Grant Langston (Kawasaki); 3. Josh Hansen (KTM); 4. Brock Sellards (Yamaha); 5. Matt Walker (Kawasaki); 6. Joaquim Rodrigues (Honda); 7. Branden Jessemen (Suzuki); 8. Tucker Hibbert (Honda); 9. Greg Schnell (Honda); 10. Kelly Smith (Yamaha).

Championship Points (East Coast / 1 of 7 rounds): 1 Millsaps 25, 2 Langston 22, 3 Hansen 20, 4 Sellards 18, 5 Walker 126, 6 Rodrigues 15, 7 Jesseman 14, 8 Hibbert 13, 9 Schnell 12, 10 Smith 11.

Championship points uploaded under the AMA dropdown menu / AMA Supercross / Championship Points.

Source: Team Suzuki Press Office

Click here to visit our forums to discuss this story