Danny Smith is the 2007 Toyota AMA Arenacross Champion

2007-02-17 15:25
Danny Smith wins the Toyota AMA Arenacross Series Championship in Nashville, TN. Robbie Reynard lined up on the Ogio starting line with a 15 point deficit behind Honda's Danny Smith. Reynard jumped to an early lead, ahead of Brock Sellards, Kevin Johnson and Danny Smith. Reynards championship dream turned into a nightmare when his Honda became lodged on top of Charlie Morrison's Honda allowing Johnson, Sellards and Smith past. Tyler Bowers mixed it up with both Sellards and Smith thoughout out the night leaving the Nashville crowd on the edge of their seat.

Team Sambaxon Fruit Smoothie rider Kevin Johnson went on to win his second main event in a row securing him a third place finish for the season. Brock Sellards coasted to a second place finish ahead of Danny Smith. Reynard charged to with in a few seconds of Smith finishing fourth for the night and second overall for the year.

In the AMA Arenacross Lites South main event it was Tyler Bowers fighting off fellow Kentucky rider Justin Sipes for his second win in as many nights. Brad Mojewski's Honda finished third. Justin's second place finish was good enough to secure him the Toyota AMA Arenacross Lites South Title.

Toyota AMA Arenacross Main Results

1. Kevin Johnson, Yam

2. Brock Sellards, Hon

3. Danny Smith, Hon

4. Robbie Reynard, Hon

5. Teddy Maier, Hon

Toyota AMA Arenacross Lites Results

1. Tyler Bowers, Hon

2. Justin Sipes, Kaw

3. Brad Modjewski, Yam

4. Cory Green, Hon

5. Jason Villatico, Kaw

Toyota AMA Arenacross Points

1. Danny Smith (3) 392

2. Robbie Reynard (6) 375

3. Kevin Johnson (4) 353

4. Keith Johnson (2) 330

5. Teddy Maier (2) 291

6. Brock Sellards (4) 280

7. Jim Neese (2) 270

8. Justin Buckelew (1) 266

9. Matt Barnes 262

10. Chad Johnson (2) 237

Source: Live Nation

Click here to visit our forums to discuss this story