Windham Wins First Monster Energy® Supercross Race Since '05

2008-02-16 22:33
Rookie Stroupe Captures First Win of his Career

Torco Fuels Honda's Kevin Windham, of Centerville, Miss., won his first Monster Energy® AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, race at Reliant Stadium since 2005 in front of 49,986 fans. Pro Circuit Kawasaki's Austin Stroupe, of Corona, Calif., won the first Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites race of his career.

Red Bull Honda's Davi Millsaps, of Cairo, Ga., won the $1,500 Progressive Holeshot Award with Monster Energy® Kawasaki's Tim Ferry, of Dade City, Fla., in tow through turn one. Points leader Chad Reed, of Tampa, Fla., went through turn one near the middle of the pack.

While leading, Millsaps crashed and Windham moved into the lead and never looked back. Reed, who rides for Team San Manuel, moved into second place on lap 11 and couldn't catch Windham. Reed finished second and Ferry finished third.

"I have been working hard this year, and tonight it paid off," said Windham. "I could not have won in front of a better crowd. I put my head down tonight and used the crowd to my advantage. The crowd was on their feet for the entire race."

"This is a tough pill to swallow," said Reed. "I gave it everything I had tonight, but Kevin (Windham) rode a great race. We have had a good season, and we will have to put it together in Atlanta next weekend."

Rockstar Suzuki's Ryan Dungey, of Belle Plaine, Minn., won the $1,000 Progressive Holeshot Award as he led Pro Circuit Kawasaki's Brett Metcalfe, of Murrieta, Calif., and Lawrence through turn one. Metcalfe passed Dungey for the lead but was re-passed on the opening lap. Moments after moving into the number-one position, Dungey crashed and fell back several positions and allowed Lawrence to assume the lead. Two laps later Dungey suffered another crash.

On lap five Stroupe, who is a rookie this season, moved past Lawrence for the lead and held on for the next 10 laps.

"I am going to the next race, and I plan to do exactly what I did here tonight," said Lawrence who now has a six-point lead. "I will be ready for the next race."

"I finally had a decent start, and that helped me in the beginning of the race," said Stroupe. "I put myself in position to stay up front and that's what I did."

AMA Supercross class race will air on CBS Sports Sunday, February 17 at Noon, and the AMA Supercross Lites class race will air on SPEED Friday, February 22 at Noon.

AMA Supercross Class Results, Houston

1. Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., Honda
2. Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Yamaha
3. Tim Ferry, Largo, Fla., Kawasaki
4. Josh Hill, Yoncalla, Calif., Yamaha
5. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda
6. Nathan Ramsey, Menifee, Calif., Yamaha
7. Charles Summey, Huntersville, N.C., Yamaha
8. Davi Millsaps, Cairo, Ga., Honda
9. Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich., KTM
10. David Vuillemin, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki

AMA Supercross Class Season Standings

1. Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Yamaha, 169
2. Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., Honda, 137
3. Tim Ferry, Largo, Fla., Kawasaki, 119
4. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 101
5. Davi Millsaps, Cairo, Ga., Honda, 98
6. Nathan Ramsey, Menifee, Calif., Yamaha, 85
7. Joshua Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Yamaha, 82
8. Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich., KTM, 77
9. Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., Suzuki, 69
10. David Vuillemin, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki, 60

Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Results, Houston

1. Austin Stroupe, Corona, Calif., Kawasaki
2. Jason Lawrence, Carlsbad, Calif., Yamaha
3. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Honda
4. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki
5. Brett Metcalfe, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki
6. Dan Reardon, Murrieta, Calif., Honda
7. Robert Kiniry, LaFayette, N.Y., Honda
8. Wil Hanh, Decatur, Texas, Yamaha
9. Michael LaPaglia, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki
10. Thomas Hahn, Alvord, Texas, Kawasaki

Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Season Standings

1. Jason Lawrence, Carlsbad, Calif., Yamaha, 135
2. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 129
3. Austin Stroupe, Corona, Calif., Kawasaki, 113
4. Brett Metcalfe, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 112
5. Tommy Hahn, Alvord, Texas, Kawasaki, 101
6. Dan Reardon, Murrieta, Calif., Honda, 95
7. Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., KTM, 85
8. Robert Kiniry, LaFayette, N.Y., Kawasaki, 71
9. Wil Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Yamaha, 69
10. Billy Laninovich, Lake Elsinore, Calif., KTM 62

KTM Junior Supercross Challenge

1. Chase Sipes, League City, Texas, KTM
2. Tryston Holland, Beckville, Texas, KTM
3. Parker Whitley, Huntington, Texas, KTM
4. Mitchell Renville, Hutton, Texas, KTM
5. Robert Hudgins, Mineola, Texas, KTM
6. Nikos Zeller, Ramona, Calif., KTM
7. Hunter Mashburn, Stephanville, Texas, KTM
8. Collin Gosnell, Sainte Genevieve., Mo., KTM
9. Michael Anderson, Pittsburgh, Pa., KTM
10. Aidan Fuller, Marshfield, Mass., KTM
11. Copper Langley, Shrevport, La., KTM
12. Jacob Copper, DeQuincy, La., KTM
13. Dylan Divan, Katy, Texas, KTM
14. Brandon Johnson, San Antonio, Texas, KTM
15. Rowdy Lyons, Thousand Oaks, Calif., KTM

Racing takes place next Saturday, March 1 at Indianapolis' RCA Dome where the Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites championship begins and the heated AMA Supercross class continues.

Source: LiveNation

Click here to visit our forums to discuss this story