EMX2 - Tripple podium for KTM riders in Finland

2009-08-23 19:36
KTM riders Jeffrey Herlings (Netherlands), Harri Kullas (Finland) and Eero Remes (Finland) finished on the podium in Vantaa, Finland.

It was an orange Sunday in Vantaa. Three KTM riders took the podium at the twelfth event for the EMX2 European Championship. The race track is sandy and just right for Jeffrey Herlings. Dutch rider from the team KTM JM Racing took the win in both races. Herlings took his position in the third lap. In the second race Herlings started second, but passed Kullas after the interesting battle. Herlings conquered 50 points, what is very important for his Championship position. Herlings is 34 points behind French rider Christophe Charlier.

Home rider Harri Kullas finished second. In the first race he progressed to the fourth place after the average start. In the second race Kullas was riding first, but Herlings passed him. Kullas was under the pressure as it was his home race and crowdy spectators were expecting the podium. Also the third place was taken by Finnish rider. Eero Remes surprised with two third places, finished third overall. He is not very known in the motocross world but he was riding fast and reliably.

In the EMX2 European Classification Christophe Charlier is still first, Jeffrey Herlings is second. There is a change on the third place. Matthias Walkner (KTM, Austria) improved his position and he is third, four points in front of Klemen Gercar (Yamaha, Slovenia). Gercar was holding the third place already more than half of the season but today he crashed and did not start in the second race. Gercar lost points and third place. Herjan Brakke (Honda, Netherlands) is fifth in the Championship Classification, he finished seventh today.

1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 50 p
2. Harri Kullas (FIN, KTM), 40 p.
3. Eero Remes (FIN, KTM), 40 p.
4. Christophe Charlier (FRA, Yamaha), 40 p.
5. Matthias Walkner (AUT, KTM), 29 p.

Championship Classification
1. Christophe Charlier (FRA, Yamaha), 488 points
2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 454 p.
3. Matthias Walkner (AUT, KTM), 331 p.
4. Klemen Gercar (SLO, Yamaha), 327 p.
5. Herjan Brakke (NED, Honda), 312 p.
6. Harri Kullas (FIN, KTM), 257 p.
8. Axel Allertu (FRA, KTM), 165 p.

Source: KTM-Sportmotorcycle AG

Click here to visit our forums to discuss this story