2009-08-30 06:28
Ken De Dycker scored an absolute and undisputed triumph through the rough and rutty sand at Lierop for the Grand Prix of the Netherlands for the penultimate round of the MX1 Motocross World Championship.

The Teka Suzuki World MX1 rider glided to victory in both motos run in front of 18,000 spectators and under sunny skies. It was the second win of the season for the Belgian and the works RM-Z450 and he was only denied a 'perfect set' across the weekend when he was second in the morning warm-up!

De Dycker, who confirmed his fourth pole position of 2009 on Saturday with a dominant performance that saw him fastest in both practice sessions and then peerless in the Qualification Heat, took the lead early in both sprints across the rough and technical sand and was able to animate the many Belgian fans in the crowd with a comfortable speed and advantage. The 25 year old took his tally of top-three finishes to 12 from a possible 28.

Steve Ramon was struggling to hone his set-up on Saturday and was still searching for an edge with the bike after some alterations tried and tested in warm-up on Sunday. The former World Champion, who toasted his title at Lierop in 2007, was seventh and 10th for eighth overall; a first corner crash, for which he was blameless, in the second moto did not help his classification.

Teka Suzuki Europe World MX2 starlet, Ken Roczen, enjoyed his third podium appearance of the year with third in the MX2 class on his first visit to Lierop. The young German was impressive in the tricky terrain and went fourth and second for his silverware.

Larissa Papenmeier took her RM-Z250 to third in the final round of the Women's World Championship and by doing so confirmed the number two plate in the series.

De Dycker is 5th in the world championship standings and just 4 points away from 3rd place. Ramon is 12th and 10 points from further promotion.

The last round of the world championship will take place at the Canelinha circuit for the Grand Prix of Brazil in two weeks time.

Ken De Dycker:

"I was having so much fun out there and it really helped me. It was not so easy because the track was so demanding and coming up to lapped riders I really had to concentrate. Sometimes I could look around and saw a lot of people cheering so I was waving to them when I could; it was a really nice experience. This was not a simple GP so I am really pleased with the result."

Steve Ramon:

"It was not a good day. I could not find the rhythm and could not push. It is a difficult track on which to ride smoothly because it is so rough everywhere. I was just not fast enough. We changed things a little bit for the second moto but the race was ruined by the start when De Reuver got sideways out of the first corner, touched my wheel and I went down. It was a big crash and the front brake lever was bent. My riding was better however afterwards and I made some positions and did the best I could."

Ken Roczen:

"The track was the roughest and most difficult of the year but we came here with the goal of staying in front of Stephen Frossard and making some breathing room in the championship and we did that. I did not start well in the first moto but could come back to fourth. I had my first GP holeshot in the second race and that was a great feeling. I rode my own race at my own speed here and everything went well."

MX1 Moto1: 1. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Teka Suzuki World MX1), 41:21.920; 2. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:05.058; 3. Tanel Leok (EST, Yamaha), +0:05.641; 4. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), +0:12.075; 5. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), +0:29.008; 6. Clement Desalle (BEL, Honda), +0:36.742; 7. Steve Ramon (BEL, Teka Suzuki World MX1), +0:51.600; 8. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:58.664; 9. Manuel Priem (BEL, Aprilia), +1:01.269; 10. Gareth Swanepoel (RSA, Kawasaki), +1:28.918

MX1 Moto2: 1. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Teka Suzuki World MX1), 42:25.366; 2. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), +0:10.466; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Honda), +0:14.649; 4. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), +0:34.631; 5. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:38.477; 6. Tanel Leok (EST, Yamaha), +0:51.271; 7. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, KTM), +1:01.217; 8. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +1:07.894; 9. Aigar Leok (EST, TM), +1:19.044; 10. Steve Ramon (BEL, Teka Suzuki World MX1), +1:32.057.

MX1 Overall result: 1. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Teka Suzuki World MX1), 50 points; 2. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), 40 p; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Honda), 35 p; 4. Tanel Leok (EST, Yamaha), 35 p; 5. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 35 p; 6. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), 34 p; 7. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 29 p; 8. Steve Ramon (BEL, Teka Suzuki World MX1), 25 p; 9. Aigar Leok (EST, TM), 21 p; 10. Gareth Swanepoel (RSA, Kawasaki), 20 p

MX1 World Championship Standings (after 14 of 15 rounds): 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), 537 points; 2. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 487; 3. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 463; 4. Clement Desalle (BEL, Honda), 461; 5. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Teka Suzuki World MX1), 459; 6. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), 449; 7. Tanel Leok (EST, Yamaha), 382; 8. Gareth Swanepoel (RSA, Kawasaki), 238; 9. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, KTM), 229; 10. Manuel Priem (BEL, Aprilia), 195p. 12. Steve Ramon (BEL, Teka Suzuki World MX1), 178.

MX2 Overall result: 1. Marvin Musquin (FRA, KTM), 47 points; 2. Rui Goncalves (POR, KTM), 45 p; 3. Ken Roczen (GER, Teka Suzuki Europe World MX2), 40 p; 4. Joel Roelants (BEL, KTM), 36 p; 5. Mike Kras (NED, KTM), 29 p; 6. Dennis Verbruggen (BEL, Honda), 27 p; 7. Ceriel Klein Kromhof (NED, KTM), 21 p; 8. Jeremy van Horebeek (BEL, KTM), 18 p; 9. Xavier Boog (FRA, Suzuki), 18 p; 10. Manuel Monni (ITA, Yamaha), 18 p.

Source: Team Suzuki Press Office

Click here to visit our forums to discuss this story