ISDE - Remes has claimed his biggest enduro prize

2009-10-17 04:25
KTM Enduro Factory Team rider Eero Remes has claimed his biggest enduro prize to date as the pint-sized Finnish Trophy team member has secured overall victory in the Enduro 1 class at the 84th running of the International Six Days Enduro staged in Figueira da Foz, Portugal.

The dominant rider in the E1 class from the very start of the event Remes put the finishing touches to what has been an outstanding week during the end-of-event final motocross and claimed a sensational win ahead of US rider Jamie Lanza. Leading from start to finish Eero was never challenged during the six-lap moto bringing his first season as a factory KTM rider to a winning end.

"Before the event I hoped for a top 10 overall result," commented Eero at the end of day 6. "Finishing second overall, winning the Enduro 1 class, being a part of the Finnish Trophy team that placed third, it's been an amazing week. I had one or two falls but my bike was perfect all week. I'm thrilled to have won the E1 class."

Giving KTM a one-two at the top of the Enduro 1 class Italian Trophy team rider Simone Albergoni finished 13th in his final motocross race, helping Italy place second in the overall Trophy team classification. Performing well throughout the event Albergoni was pleased to put a demanding week behind him. "Eero was really fast this week, but I'm pleased with my second place result. The sandy special tests aren't really my favourite but I've had a good week. Finishing second in the E1 class and second in the Trophy team class is really good."

Italian Alessandro Belometti was KTM's highest finishing rider in the Enduro 2 class as the experienced former motocross racer placed a solid third in the final day's E2 motocross race to end the event fourth. The best placed two-stroke in the E2 class Belometti's performances were essential in ensuring Italy runner-up position. "It's been a tough week but I am pleased with my results. France were very strong so finishing second in the Trophy team class is a good result."

In the Enduro 3 class KTM enjoyed two different types of success. Firstly, Finn Samuli Aro claimed a well-deserved runner-up result aboard his KTM Enduro Factory Team 300 EXC. Secondly, with five riders inside the top 10 KTM finished as the manufacturer with the most riders inside the top 10. Having announced his retirement from World Enduro Championship earlier in the year, Aro showed that he is without question still one of the world's fastest E3 class riders. "You never know what will happen with the six days, but the event went really well for me," explained the Finn. "I pushed hard to try and win the class but Christophe Nambotin was riding really well. It's been hard, but I've enjoyed it."

Behind Aro in fourth in the overall E3 class results US Trophy team rider Kurt Caselli placed fourth, having finished in the exact same position at the end-of-event E3 class race. With both Aro and Caselli competing on 300cc two-stroke machinery Italian Trophy team rider Alessandro Botturi was the highest placing KTM four-stroke rider in sixth. Germany's Marcus Kehr finished seventh while US rider Nate Kanney rounded out the overall top 10 for KTM.

Trophy Team results
1. France - 15.44:24.56 Julien Gauthier (Honda) E1; Rodrig Thain (TM) E2; Antoine Meo (Husqvarna) E3; Mark Bourgeois (Husqvarna) E3, Christophe Nambotin (Gas Gas) E3; Mark Germain (Yamaha) E1
2. Italy - 15.48:47.25 Simone Albergoni (KTM) E1; Alessandro Botturi (KTM) E3; Oscar Baletti (Honda) E2; Alessandro Belometti (KTM) E2; Fabio Mossini (Honda) E3; Alex Salvini (Husqvarna) E3
3. Finland - 16.08:00.18 Eero Remes (KTM) E1; Juha Salminen (BMW) E2; Valtteri Salonen (Husaberg) E2; Marko Tarkkala (BMW) E3; Samuli Aro (KTM) E3; Simo Kirssi (BMW) E2
4. Australia - 16.08:12.78 Chris Hollis (Husqvarna) E1; Kirk Hutton (Yamaha) E1; Glenn Kearey (Husqvarna) E3; Stefan Merriman (Yamaha) E1; Toby price (Kawasaki) E2; Jarrod Bewley (Yamaha) E2
5. USA - 16.15:00.62 Destry Abbott (Kawasaki) E2; Kurt Caselli (KTM) E3; Ricky Dietrich (Kawasaki) E2; Nathan Kanney (KTM) E3; Timmy Weigand (Honda) E1; Damon Huffman (Kawasaki) E2

Junior Trophy results
1. Spain - 9.48:13.77 Victor Guerrero (Yamaha) E1; Oriol Mena (Husaberg) E3; Lorenzo Santolino (KTM) E2; Mario Ramon (KTM) E1
2. France - 9.49:00.18 Sebastien Bozzo (Husqvarna) E2; Benoit Fortunato (Yamaha) E2; Yannick Bossi (TM) E3; Adrien Metge (Husqvarna) E2
3. USA - 9.52:58.64 Russell Bobbitt (KTM) E2; David Kamo (KTM) E3; Jamie Lanza (Kawasaki) E1; Cory Buttrick (KTM) E1
4. Italy - 9.56:44.59 Jonathan Manzi (Husqvarna) E2; Michael Pogna (KTM) E2; Edoardo d'Amabrosio (KTM) E2; Massiomo Mangini (Husqvarna) E1
5. Sweden - 10.09:53.34 Fredrik Berg (KTM) E1; Jonas Karlsson (KTM) E3; Martin Sundin (Husaberg) E2; Anton Nordh (KTM) E1

Enduro 1 class results
1. Eero Remes (KTM) 3.05:51.59;
2. Simone Albergoni (KTM) 3.09:50.85;
3. Michal Szuster (Yamaha) 3.11:27.41;
4. Fabio Mossini (Honda) 3.11:46.64;
5. Chris Hollis (Husqvarna) 3.13:35.84;

Enduro 2 class results
1. Rodrig Thain (TM) 3.06:48.33;
2. Luis Correia (Yamaha) 3.06:58.64;
3. Cristobal Guerrero (Yamaha) 3.08:41.29;
4. Alessandro Belometti (KTM) 3.09:17.95;
5. Toby Price (Kawasaki) 3.10:31.39;

Enduro 3 class results
1. Christophe Nambotin (Gas Gas) 3.05:29.17;
2. Samuli Aro (KTM) 3.06:06.77;
3. Antoine Meo (Husqvarna) 3.06:33.77
4. Kurt Caselli (KTM) 3.07:32.10;
5. Alex Salvini (Husqvarna) 3.08:48.34;

KTM toughest Club Rider
1. CADEK David CZE 3:18:25.66
2. ZAREMBA Jan CZE 3:19:34.04
3. GERINI Maurizio ITA 3:22:26.55
4. MORHED Jacob SWE 3:22:46.35
5. SALONEN Lauri FIN 3:22:51.86
6. LINOHOLM Henrik SWE 3:24:09.15

Source: KTM-Sportmotorcycle AG

Click here to visit our forums to discuss this story