2009 FIM Environmental Award

2009-10-28 02:56
The new independent Jury for the FIM Environmental Award met this past weekend during the FIM
Biennial Session to decide between the various candidates. The Jury was composed of:

- Mr Theodore Oben, United Nations Environmental Programme
- Mr Tore Brevik, environmental and communication expert
- Mr Denis Bochatay, J. de Heer Consulting

After having reviewed the 11 candidatures (a record), the Jury decided to award CANASTRA TEAM
from Brazil for its impressive and great work carried out for many years in the Rally dos Sertões.
With multiple environmental goals and a clear effect on the sport and the community, the example
given by Canastra Team and its volunteers must inspire the organisers to take into account
environmental issues and build sustainable events.

A special mention was also given by the Jury to Motorcycling Australia (MA) for its continuing
efforts to develop sustainable practices throughout our sport and the excellent measures already
taken in favour of the environment in its national events.

Source: FIM

Click here to visit our forums to discuss this story