2010 US KTM Off-Road Factory Team Announced

2009-11-10 14:21
KTM Motorsports is excited to announce the 2010 KTM Off-Road Factory Racing Team riders for the National Enduro, GNCC, Hare and Hound, WORCS and EnduroCross Series.

Beginning with the National Enduro Series, KTM is pleased to welcome back three-time National Enduro Champion Russell Bobbitt. As the current National Enduro Champion and a member of the 2009 ISDE Junior Trophy Team Bobbitt knows what it takes to win a championship. "A great bike is definitely key to winning championships. I know I have the best bike when I line up at the start of the race on my KTM. They provide the bike and I provide the rest. I am excited to return to the team and defend my championship plate," commented the champ.

For the Grand National Cross-Country (GNCC) Series KTM will continue to support New York's Nathan Kanney in the XC1 class. He will be joined by Cory Buttrick who will make the move from the XC2 class to the highly competitive XC1 class. "I am excited to move up to the premiere class. There were many races last year where Kailub (Russell) and I ran up front with the XC1 riders. I definitely feel like I have a chance to succeed in this class and can't wait for the season to start," stated Buttrick. Kailub Russell will return to defend his XC2 title and will be joined by newcomer Steward Baylor. Russell won 8 of 13 GNCC's last season and wrapped up the championship three rounds early. Baylor has been an up and coming racer in the amateur ranks and at fifteen years-old is ready to step up to the XC2 class.

In the Hare and Hound (H&H) Series KTM will continue to support the 2007 H&H Champion David Pearson and this season's 3rd place finisher and ISDE Junior Trophy Team member David Kamo. Pearson struggled in the 2009 season with injury and a few crash related DNFs at the end of the season and looks to turn his luck around for the 2010 season. Kamo, a consistent podium finisher, is focusing on stepping up to the top step of the box in the 2010 season in an effort to bring home his first championship.

Current WORCS Champion Mike Brown returns to orange for another year to defend his WORCS title as well as compete in the EnduroCross Series alongside the newly crowned EnduroCross Champion Red Bull/KTM rider Taddy Blazusiak. Both champions are setting their goals high for the 2010 season and want nothing more than to keep that number one plate on the front of their bike. "I worked hard for the WORCS Championship and it means a lot to me. I can't thank my team enough for their support in the series and I want to show my gratitude by properly defending my title for the 2010 season," remarked Brown. Also joining Mike Brown on the WORCS team will be 2007 WORCS Champion and multi-time ISDE Top American rider Kurt Caselli. "I am looking forward to returning to the WORCS events and racing near my home on the west coast again," commented Caselli.

"We have a great line up of riders and expect good results for the 2010 season. We are happy to have riders defending number one plates and hope to make a repeat of that success for next season," remarked KTM Factory Off-Road Team Manager Antti Kallonen.

Source: KTM-Sportmotorcycle AG

Click here to visit our forums to discuss this story