New Women’s Enduro World Cup.

2009-11-30 14:56
New Women’s Enduro World Cup
The FIM opened its championships to women almost ten years ago. It all started in Women’s Individual Trial Cup. Then from 2003 to 2005, world cups for women were created in Rallies and Motocross. In 2006, the FIM decided to set up the Commission for Women in Motorcycling. Its mission is to create equal opportunities and to work with the other sports commissions to promote and encourage the participation of women in motorcycle sport.
In 2010, the FIM is launching the FIM Women’s Enduro World Cup, constituted of three races with two rounds, held during the FIM World Championship Enduro events. The four best of the six results will count towards the final classification. Some technical and sporting modifications will be made on certain parts of the route to allow competitors to be able to complete the race.
Beaulah Schoeman, Commission for Women in Motorcycling President said: “The introduction of the FIM Women’s Enduro World Cup once again highlights the FIM’s commitment to promote women in motorcycling, and this decision is of course warmly welcomed by the CFM. On behalf of the CFM and all women motorcyclists, we wish each and every lady who will be participating in the FIM Women’s Enduro World Cup only the very best
Amedeo Michelotti, Enduro and Cross-Country Rallies Commission President added: "The CER is proud of the creation of the FIM Women’s Enduro World Cup which will give women participating in Enduro to be under the spotlight and show that this discipline may also be practiced by women. This year at the ISDE in Figueira da Foz, in Portugal, no fewer than five women's national teams participated, and all competitors finished the race! We wish long life to this new World Cup and hopefully a big women's participation worldwide. "
FIM Women’s Enduro World Cup 2010 calendar
22-23 May
12-13 June
25-26 September
The Technical and Sporting Regulations will be available at the beginning of January 2010.
About FIM
FIM (WWW.FIM-LIVE.COM), the world governing body for motorcycle sport, is an independent association formed by 98 National Federations throughout the world. It is recognized as the sole competent authority in motorcycle sport by the International Olympic Committee (IOC). Amongst its 49 FIM World Championships its main events are MotoGP, Superbike, Endurance, Motocross, Supercross, Trial, Enduro and Speedway. FIM also deals with non-sporting matters such as leisure motorcycling, mobility, transport, road safety and public policy and the environment, FIM was the first International sporting Federation to enforce an Environmental Code in 1994.

Source: FIM

Click here to visit our forums to discuss this story