2010-04-12 09:56
The Grand Prix of Lombardia, the second round of the FIM MX1 World Championship, delivered the second consecutive podium result for Rockstar Teka Suzuki World MX1's Clement Desalle as he earned second position overall and also celebrated his first GP victory on the works RM-Z450WS, taking the chequered flag in the opening Moto at a windy and punishing Italian Mantova circuit, crowded by 19,000 spectators.

After a hot and sunny Saturday programme in which the track became rougher and more difficult to judge throughout the day, rainfall in the evening and cloudier, cooler conditions were found on Sunday. The perennially lumpy terrain was still a harsh test and its state of continual ruts and bumps, particularly on the jump take-offs, meant a degree of caution had to be exercised.

Desalle started well and was holding a steady second position when leader David Philippaerts had a heavy crash on the third lap. With a clear track ahead, the Belgian Champion kept a reliable pace and controlled a margin over Antonio Cairoli to give the 2010 RM-Z450WS its maiden spurs this season. Sadly for Desalle he could not repeat his positive launch in Moto2 and pushed hard to reach the top-five and make sure of his second trophy in a week.

Steve Ramon endured the day and finished seventh overall. The 30 year old was handicapped by two poor starts and a layout that did not lend itself to ample overtaking opportunities. The Belgian was held up by three incidents on the first lap of Moto1 that meant a trawl back from 17th to 10th. In Moto2 he faced a similar set-back but was precise in his actions to rise from 14th to seventh.

In the young World Championship Standings Desalle is third and nine points from the red plate as series leader. Ramon is sixth and 20 points behind his team-mate.

The Grand Prix of the Netherlands in two weeks time will represent round three of the series and virtually a local event for the team with their base in Lommel less than one hour away from the sandy venue.

Clement Desalle:

"It felt great to get my first win in the first moto. I knew Cairoli was coming closer at the end but I could control the distance. My start in the second race was not as good as in the first moto and I was around eighth position on the first lap. The track was harder for passing in the afternoon so I concentrated on reaching the top five. The gap to the others was too hard to make smaller. This is my second podium but I am still new to the factory team and have to learn a lot; we can do better."

Steve Ramon:

"Tough day! Tough first moto! Out of the start someone elbowed me and that set me back. I made a lot of positions by turning tight but then in the third corner two guys crashed in front of me and I had to pull up and had nowhere to go. A bit further on, Coppins did a front flip over the double into the triple and I was following in the same rut so I jumped on his bike; it was a crazy first lap. I tried to get back to the front but it is really difficult here to make time and ground. If you want to go fast here then you need a good rhythm; if you push too hard, then you are making mistakes. In the second moto the start was not good again and the first laps were a battle. But I did the best that I could to come back and score as many points as possible."

MX1 Moto1: 1. Clement Desalle (BEL, Rockstar Teka Suzuki WMX1), 40:13.247; 2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:04.718; 3. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:14.341; 4. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Yamaha), +0:27.404; 5. Sebastien Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:29.853; 6. Jimmy Albertson (USA, Honda), +0:33.123; 7. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:35.055; 8. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, Kawasaki), +0:37.76444; 9... Tanel Leok (EST, Honda), +0:43.058; 10. Steve Ramon (BEL, Rockstar Teka Suzuki WMX1), +0:54.348.

MX1 Moto2: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 39:50.854; 2. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:08.843; 3. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:17.627; 4. Clement Desalle (BEL, Rockstar Teka Suzuki WMX1), +0:32.466; 5. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Yamaha), +0:39.633; 6. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:41.226; 7. Steve Ramon (BEL, Rockstar Teka Suzuki WMX1), +0:48.453; 8. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, Kawasaki), +0:55.507; 9. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:58.109; 10. Anthony Boissiere (FRA, TM), +1:00.706.

MX1 Overall Result: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 47 points; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Rockstar Teka Suzuki WMX1), 43 p.; 3. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 40 p.; 4. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Yamaha), 34 p.; 5. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), 29 p.; 6. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, Kawasaki), 26 p.; 7. Steve Ramon (BEL, Rockstar Teka Suzuki WMX1), 25 p.; 8. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 24 p.; 9. Jimmy Albertson (USA, Honda), 23 p.; 10. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), 19 p.

MX1 World Championship Standings (after 2 of 15 rounds): 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 88 points; 2. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 87 p.; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Rockstar Teka Suzuki WMX1), 79 p.; 4. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Yamaha), 65 p.; 5. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 60 p.; 6. Steve Ramon (BEL, Rockstar Teka Suzuki WMX1), 59 p.; 7. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, Kawasaki), 56 p.; 8. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), 54 p.; 9. Sebastien Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), 37 p.; 10. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Aprilia), 37 p.

Source: Team Suzuki Press Office

Click here to visit our forums to discuss this story