Pirelli Tyres Mx GP Lombardia Race Report

2010-04-15 08:59
After the fantastic triple sweep at the Grand Prix of Bulgaria Pirelli Scorpion MX has dominated the second round of the FIM Motocross World Championship thanks to the victories not only in MX1 with Antonio Cairoli and in MX2 with Marvin Musquin but in the Veteran’s World Cup with Mats Nilsson and in the opening round of the new 125cc two-stroke European Championship with French teenager Jordi Tixier.


After taking the first two positions in the premier class at Sevlievo, the MidSoft 32 front and rear combination filled the first four at the Grand Prix of Lombardia. In front of his home crowd Antonio Cairoli seized the overall victory, the first for Pirelli on the factory KTM 350SX-F. The defending champion walked the top step of the podium thanks to 2nd and 1st positions in the two motos and finished ahead of Belgian Clement Desalle, who he chased in the first sprint, and in front of team-mate Max Nagl; the German also surrendering the lead in the championship standings. It was an unlucky day for 2008 world champion David Philippaerts, as the Italian lost the lead in a heavy crash on the second lap of the first moto, recovered in fine style back to 5th but then dropped to 15th with a broken exhaust. His final place was 19th after a noise penalty of one minute. The 25 year old Yamaha Monster Energy MX Team rider showed his speed again in the second moto with a start-to-flag second place finish behind Cairoli. Fourth overall was Yamaha Monster Energy Ricci MX Team’s Ken De Dycker.

Overall Classification:

1. Antonio Cairoli KTM
2. Clement Desalle Suzuki
3. Max Nagl KTM
4. Ken De Dycker Yamaha
5. Xavier Boog Kawasaki


A second victory in succession was celebrated by Marvin Musquin with the Pirelli Scorpion MX who again defeated German Ken Roczen. The Frenchman, racing with the works KTM booted with MidSoft 32 front and rear, controlled both motos to maintain a 100% record and consolidate his grip on the series. Further proof of the combination’s potency was seen thanks to the obvious talents of 15 year old Dutchman Jeffrey Herlings who finished sixth in the first moto due to a brief fall, but led the entire second race until the last lap when Musquin attacked, won and stretched his unbeaten streak to four motos from four in 2010.

Overall Classification:

1. Marvin Musquin KTM
2. Ken Roczen Suzuki
3. Jeffrey Herlings KTM
4. Zach Osborne Yamaha
5. Steven Frossard Kawasaki

Source: Pirelli Mx Media

Click here to visit our forums to discuss this story