2010-04-15 08:59
Team Suzuki's Tom Sagar raced to a top-10 position in the opening round of the World Enduro Championship at Valverde del Camino in Spain at the weekend.

The conditions were certainly different in the Spanish hills for Suzuki RMX450Z-mounted Sagar, who is more accustomed to wet and heavy terrain in the UK. In a complete contrast, the hard-packed, dry and dusty tracks proved a real physical challenge.

In the extreme and unfamiliar conditions, Sagar was able to run with the top six E2 riders in the longer enduro tests and the youngster fought hard for his results on both Saturday and Sunday finishing in 12th on both days.

Said Sagar: "These conditions at the moment are something me and the RMX have not yet tackled but this is a great starting point and I felt really comfortable out there. We now need to go away and do some more testing in these conditions and I'm confident we can build and improve on these results going forward."

Team manager Paul Edmondson added: "Coming into this round our goal was just to be inside the top 10, but what we hadn't anticipated was the level of competition, so Tom has done even better than we expected and we are very happy. Completing two days of hard riding in unknown conditions is always hard, but Tom rode really well and the bike performed brilliantly."

Results: E2 Class Day One: 1st Mika Ahola (FIN), 2nd Ivan Cervantes (ESP), 3rd Juha Salminen (FIN), 4th Rodrig Thain (FRA), 5th Tomas Oldrati (ITA), 6th Joakin Ljumggren (SWE), 7th Pierre Alexandre Renet (FRA), 8th Fabrizio Planet (FRA), 9th Fabien Planet (FRA), 10th Nicolas Paganon (FRA), 11th Joan Barreda (ESP), 12th Tom Sagar (GBR, Putoline Suzuki).

E2 Class Day Two: 1st Ivan Cervantes (ESP), 2nd Mika Ahola (FIN), 3rd Rodrig Thain (FRA), 4th Juha Salminen (FIN), 5th Tomas Oldrati (ITA), 6th Oscar Balletti (ITA), 7th Joakim Ljunggren (SWE), 8th Fabrizio Dini (ITA), 9th Pierre Alexandre Renet (FRA), 10th Nicolas Paganon (FRA), 11th Jean-francois Goblet (BEL), 12th Tom Sagar (GBR, Putoline Suzuki).

Overall: 1st Ivan Cervantes (ESP), 2nd Mika Ahola (FIN), 3rd Rodrig Thain (FRA), 4th Juha Salminen (FIN), 5th Tomas Oldrati (ITA), 6th Joakim Ljunggren (SWE), 7th Pierre Alexandre Renet (FRA), 8th Fabrizio Dini (ITA), 9th Nicolas Paganon (FRA), 10th Tom Sagar (GBR, Putoline Suzuki).

Source: Team Suzuki Press Office

Click here to visit our forums to discuss this story