Monster Energy Supercross Historical Notes Package - Round 15 - Rice-Eccles Stadium - Salt Lake City, UT

2017-04-19 14:57
Monster Energy Supercross will return to scenic Salt Lake City for the first time since the 2013 season. The 2017 race will serve as the championship’s landmark 10th visit to Utah’s capital city. It’s the first time the race will not be the penultimate round.
At 4,637 feet, the Salt Lake Supercross takes place at the highest elevation of any stop in the championship, sitting in the shadow of the Wasatch Range of the Rocky Mountains. It is 3,037 feet higher than the next-closest host city, Las Vegas.
With its incredible skiing, hiking, and breathtaking scenery, the Utah Sports Commission dubbed Utah “The State of Sport,” for which Monster Energy Supercross plays a pivotal role in strengthening that distinction.
Rice-Eccles Stadium cemented its legacy by serving has the host venue of the XIX Olympic Winter Games from Salt Lake City in 2002. It has hosted every supercross event in Salt Lake City, from ’01-’04 and ’09-’13.

450SX Class Stats: Salt Lake City
2013 Podium:
Ryan Villopoto
Davi Millsaps
Ryan Dungey

The first 450SX Class race held in Salt Lake City was on April 28, 2001. Ricky Carmichael won riding a Kawasaki. It was the first race after Carmichael clinched his inaugural 450SX Class title.
Five riders have traded wins in the nine 450SX Class races held in Salt Lake City. Only Ryan Dungey and Chad Reed have failed to record multiple SLC victories.
Ryan Villopoto is the winningest rider in Salt Lake City history, claiming three victories over the course of five seasons in which he won every other year.
There has never been a first-time winner nor a brand sweep across the 450SX and 250SX Classes in Salt Lake City.
Jason Anderson and Eli Tomac will each look to become the first rider in Salt Lake City history to win in both the 450SX Class and 250SX Class.

All-Time Wins by Brand in Salt Lake City (Last Win)
Kawasaki: 4 (2013)
Honda: 3 (2010)
KTM: 1 (2012)
Yamaha: 1 (2003)

All-Time Wins in Salt Lake City (Wins)
Ryan Villopoto (3)
Ricky Carmichael (2)
Kevin Windham (2)

Past Winners in Salt Lake City
2001: Ricky Carmichael; Kawasaki
2002: Ricky Carmichael; Honda
2003: Chad Reed; Yamaha
2004: Kevin Windham; Honda
2009: Ryan Villopoto; Kawasaki
2010: Kevin Windham; Honda
2011: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki
2012: Ryan Dungey, KTM
2013: Ryan Villopoto; Kawasaki

250SX Class Stats: Salt Lake City
2013 Podium:
Jason Anderson
Cole Seely
Martin Davalos
The first 250SX Class race held in Salt Lake City was on April 28, 2001. Ernesto Fonseca won aboard a Yamaha to end his championship-winning campaign, and his 250SX Class career, on a high note.
Jason Anderson earned his first career win at the championship’s most recent visit in 2013, making him the only first-time winner in Salt Lake City history. It was also Suzuki’s most recent victory in the division.
The Salt Lake City winner has gone on to win the title in five of nine seasons, but only twice during the most recent five-year stretch in the state – the final two seasons from ’09-’13.

All-Time Wins by Brand in Salt Lake City (Last Win)
Kawasaki: 4 (2010)
Honda: 3 (2012)
Suzuki: 1 (2013)
Yamaha: 1 (2001)

All-Time Wins in Salt Lake City (Wins)
James Stewart (2)
Eli Tomac (2)

First-Time Winners in Salt Lake City
2013: Jason Anderson

Past Winners in Salt Lake City
2001: Ernesto Fonseca; Yamaha
2002: James Stewart; Kawasaki
2003: James Stewart; Kawasaki
2004: Ivan Tedesco; Kawasaki
2009: Trey Canard; Honda
2010: Josh Hansen; Kawasaki
2011: Eli Tomac; Honda
2012: Eli Tomac; Honda
2013: Jason Anderson; Suzuki

Source: Feld Motor Sports

Click here to visit our forums to discuss this story

In Our Forums


Bikeland on TwitterBikeland on YouTubeBikeland news on RSS
Bikeland gear
Cox Racing Group
Burnaby Kawasaki