Press Release
March 12, 2005

Team Makita Suzuki's Ricky Carmichael raced his RM250 into second place at the Daytona Supercross behind defending champion Chad Reed.

The 25-year-old Florida rider, on home turf for the 10th round of the 16-leg series, still holds a commanding 32-point lead in the THQ/ AMA Championship with team mate Sebastien Tortelli - racing the four-stroke RM-Z450 - seventh after retiring after one lap.

Reed grabbed the holeshot in the 20-lap 250cc Main Event and led every lap, despite being threatened by Carmichael on several occasions, but he pulled ahead by 34 seconds when Carmichael made a mistake and crashed off the track on the 17th lap. The Suzuki rider got up immediately, but he was slowed by trackside banners dragging in his rear wheel.

Honda's Mike LaRocco put in another solid performance to finish third, some 5.484 seconds behind Carmichael with David Vuillemin fourth.

The 125cc Eastern Region Main Event was an equally wild, unpredictable race that saw several pre-race favourites, including Team Makita Suzuki's Davi Millsaps and Matt Walker and Grant Langston all crash.

Josh Grant got the holeshot and led for most of the race before ultimately being caught by Josh Hansen. The two battled on lap 14 and, incredibly, they collided and crashed just as they took the white flag. Hansen got up first and managed to get ahead of Grant to earn his second career AMA Supercross victory over Grant.

250cc Results: 1 Chad Reed (Yamaha), 2 Ricky Carmichael (Suzuki), 3 Mike Larocco (Honda), 4 David Vuillemin (Yamaha), 5 Kevin Windham (Honda), 6 Travis Preston (Honda), 7 Ernesto Fonseca (Honda), 8 Andrew Short (Honda), 9 Tim Ferry (Yamaha), 10 Sean Hamblin (Kawasaki).

Championship Points (after 10 of 16 rounds): 1 Carmichael 239, 2 Reed 207, 3 Windham 172, 4 Larocco 169, 5 Vuillemin 150, 6 Fonseca 137, 7 Sebastien Tortelli (Suzuki) 129, 8 Byrne 103, 9 Voss 95, 10 Evans 81.

Source: Team Suzuki Press Office

Click here to visit our forums to discuss this story