Impressive first GP qualification for KTM

April 2, 2005

The KTM team enjoyed a decent first qualification of the season for the opening round of the FIM MX1 Motocross World Championships at a sunny Zolder in Belgium this afternoon.

Tyla Rattray claimed pole position in the MX2 class for the Grand Prix of Flanders by winning the first qualification heat by almost fourteen seconds from Andrew McFarlane. Carl Nunn placed eighth in the same 20 minute and 2 lap sprint.

Steve Ramon posted a lap-time to obtain second spot in the MX1 category and was closely followed by Ben Townley in third, virtually two tenths of a second from the Belgian.

Defending MX3 Champion Yves Demaria was on pole position for the MX3 season opener at Castelnau de Levis with Julien Bill in third place. Sven Breugelmans was fourth in the other qualifying group.


MX1 Timed Practice:

1 Pichon, Mickael, FRA Honda 1:42.097
2 Ramon, Steve, BEL KTM 1:42.292
3 Townley, Ben, NZL KTM 1:42.454
4 de Dijcker, Ken, BEL Honda 1:42.523
5 Smets, Joel, BEL Suzuki 1:42.817
6 van Daele, Marvin, BEL Honda 1:43.076
7 Pyrhonen, Antti, FIN TM 1:43.307
8 Cooper, Paul, GBR Honda 1:43.528
9 Everts, Stefan, BEL Yamaha 1:44.088
10 Leok, Tanel, EST Kawasaki 1:44.148

MX2 Qualifying Heat 1:

1 Rattray, Tyla RSA, KTM 24:45.754
2 McFarlane, Andrew, AUS Yamaha 24:59.187
3 Melotte, Cedric, BEL Yamaha 24:59.699
4 Sword, Stephen, GBR Kawasaki 25:12.082
5 Brown, Mike, USA Honda 25:24.763
6 Church, Tom, GBR Kawasaki 25:26.683
7 Leok, Aigar, EST KTM 25:27.514
8 Nunn, Carl, GBR KTM 25:31.341
9 Eggens, Erik NED Honda 25:37.800
10 Mackenzie, Billy GBR Yamaha 25:48.483


Group A:
1. Yves Demaria FRA KTM 2:13.197
3. Julien Bill SUI KTM 2.14.621

Group B:
4. Sven Breugelmans BEL KTM 2:14.257

Source: KTM-Sportmotorcycle AG

Click here to visit our forums to discuss this story