Rattray on pole at Bellpuig

Tyla Rattray continued his 100% MX2 record in the FIM Motocross World Championships by winning the first qualification race here at Bellpuig today for the Grand Prix of Spain, the second race of seventeen in the 2005 series. Rattray suffered a small crash in the heat but still managed to win his fourth outing of the year (including the Saturday heat and two Grand Prix motos at Zolder in Belgium two weeks ago). Champ KTM team-mate Carl Nunn had a good ride to fifth.
Steve Ramon produced a late effort in the MX1 timed practice to take second spot ahead of Honda's Josh Coppins. Ben Townley struggled on the Catalan circuit in very windy and dusty conditions and could only capture the fourteenth best time.

MX2 First Qualification Heat:

1. Tyla Rattray RSA KTM 24:34.140
2. Stephen Sword GBR Kawasaki 24:36.365
3. Antonio Cairoli ITA Yamaha 24:45.415
4. Andrew McFarlane AUS Yamaha 24:48.336
5. Carl Nunn GBR KTM 24:59.166
6. Mickael Maschio FRA Yamaha 25:00.148
7. Matteo Bonini ITA Honda 25:00.468
8. Tom Church GBR Kawasaki 25:01.798
9. Christophe Pourcel FRA Kawasaki 25:02.781
10. Manuel Monni ITA KTM 25:02.874

MX1 Timed Practice

1. Mickael Pichon, FRA Honda 1:45.683
2. Steve Ramon BEL KTM 1:46.456
3. Joshua Coppins NZL Honda 1:46.706
4. Stefan Everts BEL Yamaha 1:46.840
5. Tanel Leok EST Kawasaki 1:47.204
6. Ken de Dijcker BEL Honda 1:47.214
7. Joel Smets BEL Suzuki 1:47.276
8. Brian Jorgensen DEN Yamaha 1:47.408
9. Aaron Bernardez SPA Honda 1:47.749
10. Kevin Strijbos BEL Suzuki 1:47.771
11. Kornel Nemeth HUN Suzuki 1:47.936
12. James Noble GBR Honda 1:48.016
13. Paul Cooper GBR Honda 1:48.042
14. Ben Townley NZL KTM 1:48.075
15. Antoine Meo FRA Husqvarna 1:48.094

Source: KTM-Sportmotorcycle AG
Photo: R. Archer

Click here to visit our forums to discuss this story