Series Champs Weimer and Dungey hold off Vegas challengers

Kawasaki takes 1,2,3,4 in the Lites Shootout

Ryan Dungey in Last Vegas 2010

by Jon Row

Supercross 2010’s seventeen-race circus wrapped up its action packed season at Las Vegas’ Sam Boyd stadium. After Gieco Powersports/Honda/Factory Connection's #14 Kevin Windham’s week-ago domination of the snow, ice and muck-shortened Salt Lake event, bright sunshine, track-parching 90 degree temperatures and high winds greeted surviving riders and their fans at Vegas.

2010 East Coast Series Champ and ‘09 Vegas Shootout winner, #1E Christophe Pourcel served notice for the East-West Lites Shootout qualifying fastest on his Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki. 2010 West Series runner up #38 Trey Canard’s Geico Factory Connection Honda was ¾ second behind with 2010 West Series Champ Monster Energy/Pro Circuit's #1W Jake Weimer third.

2010 SX Champ #5 Ryan Dungey of team Rockstar/Makita/Suzuki/Yoshimura was ready for business, scorching the field with a 1:02.41 qualifying lap, 1.2 seconds ahead of Windham and another ½ second faster than Monster Energy/Kawasaki's #22 Chad Reed.

Lites Heat #1 (East)
Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s #108 Dean Wilson took advantage of a crash filled 250 heat one, besting Star Racing/DNA Shraded Stix's #577 Martin Davalos in 2nd and BTOSports/BBMX/Palmello Suzuki's #130 Kyle Keylon in 3rd. #1E Pourcel crashed but managed a sixth place transfer.

Lites Heat #2 (West)
Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki team mates #100 Josh Hansen and #1W Jake Weimer dominated the fastest 250 heat, easily outrunning #116 Ryan Morais’ RockStar Energy Suzuki and the rest of the field.

SX Heat #1
San Manuel Band of Mission Indians' #75 Josh Hill’s holeshot and initial corner speeds forced #14 Kevin Windham to execute a daring leap across a rollover jump surprising the crowd, Hill, and the rest of the field. Hill was keeping Windham in sight but went down hard on lap 5 handing second to Honda Red Bull Racing's #29 Andrew Short with Muscle Milk/Toyota/JGR/Yamaha's #23 Justin Brayton taking third.

SX Heat #2
#5 Ryan Dungey gave a preview of the main by winning wire to wire. A still recovering #22 Chad Reed managed to cut a faster lap but had to settle for second. Valli Motorsports Rockstar Yamaha's #32 Kyle Cunningham brought home third in the fastest heat of the night.

250 LCQ
Honda of Troy/Kilbarger Racing's #505 Sean Lipanovich grabbed the holeshot but blew the first turn allowing DNA Shred Stix/Division 7's #20 Broc Tickle and Confused Clothing/Warthog Racing's #592 Jake Canada to lock in main event transfers with solid rides.

450 LCQ
#75 Josh Hill redeemed himself by winning the Last Chance Qualifier with #916 Gray Davenport’s Triple Effects/South Valley Motorsports Kawasaki taking second for the final transfer position.

250 Lites Dave Coombs East –West Shootout
#1W Jake Weimer, #108 Dean Wilson, #100 Josh Hansen, and #1E Christophe Pourcel put on an impressive, fast, 15 lap Kawasaki parade. Hard charging Canadian native Wilson took over second on lap six waiting for a Weimer mistake that never came. Hansen and Pourcel were slicing and dicing each other hard but Hansen, fresh off his second place Salt Lake finish, took third away from the Frenchman on lap six.

Chasing Wilson on the final lap both Hansen and Pourcel sequentially nailed the Canadian with hard, contact passes knocking him out of a podium finish. At the checkers, Weimer got the Shootout trophy and bragging rights to go with his new West Coast Championship plate. Hansen’s superb ride for second will likely keep Pourcel humble until the MX series starts.

SX Main
#5 Ryan Dungey put on a powerful display winning the final 2010 SX event wire to wire, holding back a hard riding but not quite 100% #22 Chad Reed in second. Dungey cut progressively faster laps before putting it on cruise mode at the halfway point and carefully carving through the lappers. Reed mustered a late charge on the final laps but ended up five seconds down at the finish. Crowd favorite Kevin "K-Dub" Windham, boxed in with a mid pack start, steadily worked past five riders to gain a well earned 3rd. Windham was never able to pressure Reed but given the impressive speed of the riders he passed he was happy to cap the season with this podium and finish second overall in the Championship.

Motocross fans are now looking forward to the USGP and upcoming AMA Outdoor series while they await Supercross 2011’s January launch.

1. #5 Ryan Dungey - Rockstar/Makita/Suzuki/Yoshimura
2. #22 Chad Reed - Monster Energy/Kawasaki
3. #14 Kevin Windham - Gieco Powersports/Honda/Factory Connection
4. #32 Kyle B Cunningham - Valli Motorsports Rockstar Yamaha
5. #29 Andrew T Short - Honda Red Bull Racing
6. #18 David D Millsaps - Honda Red Bull Racing
7. #55 Kyle P Chisholm - Motoconcepts Yamaha
8. #23 Justin D Brayton - Muscle Milk/Toyota/JGR/Yamaha
9. #10 Thomas K Hahn - Rockstar Energy Suzuki
10. #27 Nicholas A Wey - TiLube/Babbitts/MSR/Foremost
11. #26 Michael Byrne - Two Six MX Racing
12. #47 Matt Boni - Hart & Huntington Rockstar
13. #67 Chris Blose - Hart & Huntington Rockstar
14. #135 Josh R Demuth - Rockstar/Hart & Huntington
15. #58 Weston L Peick - Rock River Powersports/FMF
16. #62 Jason W Thomas - Suzuki
17. #75 Joshua R Hill - San Manuel Band of Mission Indians
18. #644 Kyle D Partridge - Red Seven Ride Co/Kawasaki
19. #474 Jake Anstett - AES Racing/Devol Eng/Danco Performance
20. #916 Gray Davenport - Triple Effect/South Valley Motorsports


Click here to visit our forums to discuss this story