Short Takes Win in Seattle as Villopoto Stuffs it in front of Home Crowd, Kiniry Completes SX with no Coolant

Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship at Seattle’s CenturyLink Field (formerly Quest Field) - round 15 of 17 – wow say that three times fast!

Now that all the official name calling is out of the way – let’s talk about dirt, dry dirt – hey, Seattle where’s the rain? A beautiful sunny dry day greeted fans in a packed Quest Field. What else was missing? James Stewart – didn’t see him or his bike at the Toyota/Yamaha/JGRMX’s team tent but huge crowds lined up to see a mysterious MotoConcept bike wearing a # 7 plate, and the buzz of speculation that surrounded the bike on the other side of the fenced off pits was deafening.

Along with the bright sunshine was a shiny, fit Chad Reed chatting in the press room in a smart red riding suit. Walking in the pits you still see a large group of Love Chads – fans buying shirts and making “get well Chad” signs – it means a lot to the LOVE CHAD fan, knowing that he is still here showing up for them because the fans are still coming to races supporting him even though he is not actively participating.

Popping up all over were paper cut outs of Ryan Villopoto’s face – kind of creepy, but the kids seem to like it and got to give props to someone who takes care of all the fans – even the littlest ones in strollers!

After a nasal Star Spangled Banner and some fireworks we got a fast intro to the major players a quick “Hi” from Chad Reed and we were off to the races.

Lites Heat #1 (6 Laps) top 9 finishers transfer to main event

#15 Dean Wilson on a Kawasaki KX250F took the lead early and set the pace for the heat. Yellow flags were waving on the fourth lap. #31 Martin Davalos on a Suzuki RM-Z250 took second and #105 Matt Moss KTM 250SX-F held third and #17 Eli Tomac Honda CRF250 took the fourth spot in the second lap and #59 Vince Friese Honda CRF250 closed out the top five spots.

Lites Heat #2 (6 Laps) top 9 finishers transfer to main event

#38 Marvin Musquin KTM 250 SX-F, who scored the fastest lap times in qualifying took the lead and had #58 Wil Hahn chase him around the field on his Honda CRF250. #34 Cole Seely Honda CRF250 battled his way up from his fourth place start to finish third over #44 Jason Anderson Suzuki RM-Z250 who finished in the fourth place spot. Closing out the score board was #53 Ryan Sipes on his Yamaha YZ250F who squeezed in front of #232 Billy Laninovich Honda CRF250 on the sixth lap bumping Laninovich off the Monster Energy score board.

AMA SX Heat #1 (8 laps) top 9 finishers transfer to main event

Villopoto fans were on their feet when in the first lap #70 Ken Roczen KTM 350 SX-F passed the #1 plate Ryan Villipoto on his Kawasaki KX450F. The third place finish went to #10 Justin Brayton on a Honda CRF450 in front of #29 Andrew Short also on a Honda CRF450. Fifth place was claimed by #24 Brett Metcalfe on a Suzuki RM-Z450. The pack was established early and except for some carnage in the back of the pack taking out a few riders the qualifier ran smoothly.

AMA SX Heat #2 (8 laps) top 9 finishers transfer to main event

Hot out of the gate and making it look easy was #5 Ryan Dungey KTM 450 SX-F with a 7.3 gap front of #21 Jake Weimer on his Kawasaki KX450F. #18 David Millsaps Yamaha YZ450F took the third spot in the fourth lap from #50 Nico Izzi Yamaha YZ450F who crossed the finish in the eighteenth spot. #11 Kyle Chisholm Kawasaki KX450F fought to finish fourth and making it on to the score board on the last lap was #800 Mike Alessi Suzuki RM-Z450F over #36 Kyle Regal Kawasaki KX450 who finished in sixth place.

Last chance Qualifier Lites (4 Laps)

Fifteen riders only two will advance to the final lites race.

First out of the gate was #67 Scott Champion Honda CRF250 in front of Killy Rusk #84 Honda CRF250 who finished second in front of #95 Chris Plouffe Honda CRF250 who battled up to third but did not make the top two riders and did not advance to the finals.

Last Chance Qualifier Supercross ( 6 laps)

A crowded track with 22 riders fighting to try to make it to the Supercross finals all behind the leader #54 Weston Peick Yamaha YZ450F and #27 Nicholas Wey Kawasaki KX450F who took the two advancing spots.

AMA Supercross Lites Main Event (15 laps)

#53 Ryan Sipes battled the pack to get in front of the crowd early to take the lead and hold it with a modest gap ahead of #15 Dean Wilson. Some exciting contact in the seventh lap between #17 Eli Tomac and #15 Dean Wilson resulted in #15 Dean Wilson taking some dirt samples before climbing back on his bike. #34 Cole Seely and #58 Wil Hahn battled back and forth for positions behind second place #17 Eli Tomac. Add into the mix the talents of #38 Marvin Musquin who shook the order all up in the last lap (coming up from tenth place) behind # 53 Ryan Sipes to take the second place finish from #17 Eli Tomac, bumping Eli to a third place finish. #34 Cole Seely landed in fourth and last on the score board #58 Wil Hahn with a strong fifth place finish.

AMA Supercross Main Event (20 laps)

#81 Yamaha rider Robert Kiniry rides the entire race with no coolant after a get together with another rider.

Spectators were invited to Text to vote who they thought would win the Main event and enter for the chance to win a custom Suzuki GSXR 600 Street bike. Who got the most votes? Villopoto 64% Milsaps 3% Brayton 2% Dungey 21% Metcalfe 7%

First lap saw #29 Andrew Short get the Hole Shot and #1 Ryan Villopoto down and hurt before finishing the first lap. #70 Ken Roczen came up behind #29 Andrew Short and challenged him back and forth for the lead spot. #21 Jake Weimer rode a strong race in third place. #10 Justin Brayton was in fourth ahead of #5 Ryan Dungey until Dungey slid out and dropped back to seventh in the seventh lap, giving fifth place to #800 Mike Alessi. On lap thirteen #800 Mike Alessi dropped to seventh, giving the fifth place spot on the score board to #18 David Millsaps. Before the race was over Villopoto fans could be seen exiting the stadium, not interested in seeing anyone other than #1 Ryan Villopoto on the podium. True race fans stayed to cheer on #29 Andrew Short who takes his first first place podium spot in eleven years of AMA Supercross racing. Andrew Short listened to advice from his wife who told him to “Grab your balls and go!!!” Words to live by.

Click here to visit our forums to discuss this story

Tags: 2012, seattle, supercross